Jim Adler | The Tough, Smart Lawyer
FREE Case Review

Sadly, many people are victims of Texas distracted driving accidents and injury. More and more drivers are using cell phones and other devices to text, call, check the Internet or do other things while operating a motor vehicle and such distractions can be deadly.

Indeed, texting while driving or other distractions are killing or injuring thousands of Texans. Their families have a legal right to seek financial compensation after a distracted driving injury.

If you’ve had a Texas distracted driving injury, notify our law firm today. We can fight for your legal right to financial compensation for your losses, including payments for your medical expenses, your lost present and future wages and your pain and suffering.

Texas Distracted Driving Laws

When making an injury claim after a crash caused by driver distraction, keep in mind that your claim may not hinge on laws pertaining to distracted driving. Rather, it may focus on the particular traffic mistake which caused the crash, such as running a red light. Distractions may have caused a driver to run a red light, but the chief traffic law broken was failing to stop at the red light.

Unlike 44 of the 50 states, Texas has not passed a law banning texting while driving or using a handheld cell phone for any purpose at the wheel. Then-Gov. Rick Perry vetoed such a law, which was passed by the Legislature.

However, many municipalities have stepped in to help protect their citizens from distracted driving injury by banning use of handheld cell phones entirely at the wheel — as San Antonio and Austin have done — or by banning specific uses such as texting at the wheel.

According to the Texas Department of Transportation, 40 cities have laws banning texting while driving, with fines ranging from $200 to $500. These cities include San Antonio, Austin, Arlington, Corpus Christi, Denton, El Paso, Bellaire, West University Place, Galveston, McAllen and Nacogdoches.

Too, some state laws do restrict use of cell phones at the wheel.

Novice drivers who are 18 and younger are banned from using cell phones for any purpose at the wheel, as are school bus drivers with passengers 17 and younger. And that includes texting.

Distracted Driving Injury Lawyers Can Help

Again, a personal injury lawsuit after a distracted driving injury may not hinge on such laws or be undercut by lack of them. Instead, if a distracted driver runs a red light and injures you in your car, the red-light offense alone can establish liability, and running red lights is illegal throughout the state.

Even so, a distracted driving offense can contribute to your claim, since some driving distractions are illegal.

If you were injured by a distracted driver, notify our law firm for a distracted driving injury lawyer. We’ve helped many thousands of Texans claim the payments to which they were legally entitled for over 40 years. Now let us help you, too.

Share this...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestDigg thisShare on RedditPrint this pageEmail this to someone
If you’ve been seriously injured, get The Tough, Smart Lawyer! ®
Get Help Right Now
Principal Office Houston, TX