Jim Adler | The Tough, Smart Lawyer
FREE Case Review

If you or a loved one has been hurt in a car wreck, you need to know your rights in terms of vehicle injury case settlements. Our law firm can help you reach such a settlement in the legal realm by filing a claim against the at-fault driver or his or her insurance company.

One of the first things you’ll need is to determine what your injury is worth, or how much your case settlement should be. Your car accident lawyer as well as your insurance company, or the at-fault driver’s insurer, each will determine their own belief of what that amount should be, based on formulas concerning the nature and extent of your injury.

Part of setting the amount for settlements depends on medical costs, lost present and future wages and other out-of-pocket expenses, or economic damages. Another part of vehicle injury settlements concerns non-economic damages, such as the pain and suffering of the victim.

Keep in mind that Texas is a “fault” car insurance state, so you can file a personal injury lawsuit or liability insurance claim against the other driver based on that driver being at fault.

Insurance Is Key in Vehicle Case Injury Settlements

As far as the target of your lawsuit, car insurance is a big factor. You may be making a claim under your own policy, or you may be making a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company, or what is called a third-party insurance claim.

In Texas, state law requires all drivers to carry auto insurance. However, as many as 20 per cent of drivers do not. You can protect yourself by carrying “uninsured motorist insurance” or “underinsured motorist insurance” with your own policy.

Such insurance is not required by state law, but it can be vital in protecting you if the other driver lacks insurance and also lacks the means to pay you for your damages. All insurers in Texas are required to offer these insurance coverage options.

When car insurance is available for reaching vehicle injury case settlements, here are the minimum car insurance coverage requirements for Texas: $25,000 for property damage per accident, $30,000 for bodily injury per person and $60,000 for bodily injury per accident if two or more people are injured.

You also should be aware of Texas laws governing how long you have to file a car injury lawsuit. The “statute of limitations” in Texas for personal injury cases allows you two years from the date of the injury to file a civil lawsuit in the proper branch of the court system. (Texas Civil Practice Code, Title 2 section 16.003.)

Get a Personal Injury Lawyer for Your Settlement

To seek such vehicle injury case settlements in Texas, many persons rely on experienced personal injury lawyers such as those at Jim Adler & Associates. Your car wreck injury attorney from our law firm will have skill and experience in negotiating settlements and can ensure your legal rights are protected.

Notify our law firm today for assistance with your vehicle injury settlement. We’ll start by providing you with a free legal consultation. Then you can decide how you want to proceed.

Thousands of Texans over the past 40 years have sought fair and just vehicle injury case settlements with the help of Jim Adler & Associates.

Share this...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestDigg thisShare on RedditPrint this pageEmail this to someone
If you’ve been seriously injured, get The Tough, Smart Lawyer! ®
Get Help Right Now
Principal Office Houston, TX